Jump to content

Logo

Toggle shoutbox Task Force Shout Box Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Jay-Eff (Sun 10 Nov 19 - 22:58) Of my 3 Deployments (8, 9, 11) this was maybe the best. 8 was a favourite as it was my first - that feels soo long ago
@  stabcon (Mon 11 Nov 19 - 07:55) Mod update is released, please follow this link http://forums.realit...log/#entry19290
@  stabcon (Mon 11 Nov 19 - 17:06) S2 is online and available for testing of mods
@  The Icarus (Mon 11 Nov 19 - 18:31) Reminder for everybody: D11 sported a lot of custom faces. If you try to connect with it now, it will throw errors on the server. Make sure to change your face! ;)
@  Andrews (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 08:28) Welcome to the Reality Gaming Task Force Therese. View Therese's Profile
@  Obi (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 20:31) A moment of silence for KIMBO
@  Ante (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 20:36) gone but not forgotten :(
@  The Icarus (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 21:23) I have amazing grace as death music in left 4 dead 2 :)
@  KIMBO-MK-1 (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 21:40) Beautiful rendition OBI I too have been practicing ;)
@  Barnes (Tue 12 Nov 19 - 22:32) Oh, please allow me to jump on the bandwagon and show you my rendition of the 20 century fox intro: here :D
@  stabcon (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 08:27) Apologies for no training post so far guys. However tonight us on, please ensure you have the modern modest loaded
@  TAE (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 08:50) Isn't auto-correct great Stabs?
@  CAESAR (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 11:19) :D
@  Villhelm (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 12:48) Apologies all, internet wasnt back on till yesterday, training post now up!
@  Thehelloguy (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 15:07) :D
@  The Icarus (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 17:07) Training server being restarted for final RGTA version. Should be back within the next 5 minutes! All done!
@  Obi (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 21:25) Just wanted to give a thanks to those who nominated me for that award. To say that I appreciate it would understate how I feel about it. Thank you!
@  Barnes (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 21:26) It was a hard pick between you and the Jap that Banzai'd Kimbo. :D
@  Obi (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 21:32) I was going to give it to him, honestly. It was a good attack.
@  Barnes (Wed 13 Nov 19 - 21:55) Congratulations to everyone that got involved in D11 and a very big thank you and good job to the staff that made D11 such an enjoyable experience.

Photo
HELP

Bug; No Message Recieved

- - - - -

Best Answer TAE , 07 March 2016 - 06:25

^Exactly what Andrews said.

 

WiFi is not the best thing to begin with but a lot of things can make it worse. Too many WiFi Router or Access-points on the same channel start canceling each other out. Each wall in between you and your router reduces the signal strength additionally. WiFi-Signals don't follow the hallway and walk around corners.

Think of it like a light bulb, the light spreads out, but every object in between you and the bulb casts a shadow. While it might still be bright behind it, the light intensity is reduced. More objects casting a shadow in a row means even less strength. All you need then is one interference and you connection drops for a short duration until everything is capable of reconnecting.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Fluffy

Fluffy
  • ENLISTED INFANTRY

Posts
131
Threads
3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    So in today's training my internet cut-out on both Steam/ArmA and TS for approximately one minute. Whilst they were down my internet worked fine on other devices. I've had this happen before, though there seems to be no obvious cause, and it affects me randomly.

     

    Would anyone be able to suggest a cause or fix for this?


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #2
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    838
    Threads
    55
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    831
    Offline

    When you say "other devices" you mean on a smartphone and/or other notebook/computer in the household?

    If the internet cuts-out on Steam/Arma and TS, does brwosing still work? Or Skype?


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #3
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    Must have missed this when it was posted, it seems like it cuts out on my PC (TS/Steam/ArmA), but not my laptop/phone/etc. I can still browse the internet on those devices.


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #4
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    838
    Threads
    55
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    831
    Offline

    Wired connection or WiFi?


    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #5
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    WiFi, using a USB 3 WiFi device too, if that helps


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #6
    Andrews

    Andrews

      Task Force Command

    • HEAD ADMIN

    Posts
    2,482
    Threads
    475
  •   Member Number:
    1
  •   Joined:
    14-September 13
  •   Reputation:
    1708
    Offline

    This sounds like a bad usb wireless modem, since the other devices function and only the PC fails, I would check to see if you can connect via your laptop (not to play just to idle) and see if you drop.

     

    Try another USB external modem if you have one or RJ45 (hard cable) into your PC. 

     

    Hope this helps.

     

    /edit - log into your router and change wifi channels. This could prevent interference.

     

    http://www.pcadvisor...hannel-3325316/


    • Fluffy likes this

    FOUNDER / HEAD ADMIN
    andrews2013.jpg

    pIRDoLzGIuHoB5GgQDdRtTWKA0Y%3D.png

    Carpe diem!" - "seize the day" - Horace


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #7
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    Thanks for the assistance, if changing to WiFi settings doesn't work out I'll look into a new WiFi adapter, perhaps one that connects via PCI.


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #8
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    838
    Threads
    55
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    831
    Offline
    ✓  Best Answer

    ^Exactly what Andrews said.

     

    WiFi is not the best thing to begin with but a lot of things can make it worse. Too many WiFi Router or Access-points on the same channel start canceling each other out. Each wall in between you and your router reduces the signal strength additionally. WiFi-Signals don't follow the hallway and walk around corners.

    Think of it like a light bulb, the light spreads out, but every object in between you and the bulb casts a shadow. While it might still be bright behind it, the light intensity is reduced. More objects casting a shadow in a row means even less strength. All you need then is one interference and you connection drops for a short duration until everything is capable of reconnecting.


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #9
    Doolz

    Doolz

      Arrow Legend

    • VIP GROUP
    Posts
    122
    Threads
    4
  •   Member Number:
    49
  •   Joined:
    16-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    141
    Offline

    Missed this so a bit late but Stick a wire in it Fluffy especially for gaming.

     

    Solution I use if PC is not near the hub

     

    http://www.amazon.co...ilpage_o01_s00 

     

    Should get better speed that way too.


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards



    Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HELP

    DMCA.com Protection Status