Jump to content

Logo

Toggle shoutbox Task Force Shout Box Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Villhelm (Wed 12 Feb 20 - 22:41) No worries! Feedback thread here: http://forums.realit...dback-the-ship/
@  Pterolatypus (Thu 13 Feb 20 - 11:56) Servers have been updated so you should be able to use Dynasound and Enhanced Soundscape again - sorry for the inconvenience!
@  Whigital (Thu 13 Feb 20 - 13:36) How did this pass under the radar -> https://forums.bohem...ct-cup-maps-20/
@  stabcon (Thu 13 Feb 20 - 14:08) it did not! heaavy WIP though, so will likely be one for the future
@  Refurius (Fri 14 Feb 20 - 11:24) Dont forget, friday OP today at 1900gmt by our very own zezzek!
@  Aatoshi (Fri 14 Feb 20 - 11:30) By Zezzek? I have to join in on that
@  Zezzek (Fri 14 Feb 20 - 18:15) Reminder: You have a date with Arma in 45 mins.
@  Aatoshi (Fri 14 Feb 20 - 22:28) Sorry Zezzek, forgot about the time, was fixing my car, I'm sure it was great
@  marius (Sat 15 Feb 20 - 01:29) Was a fun and great mission Zezzek! Thank you for putting it on for some fun on a friday
@  TAE (Sat 15 Feb 20 - 05:05) Yeah it was indeed fun! Thanks Betty for stepping up
@  Black Betty (Sat 15 Feb 20 - 11:04) Thank you for giving me the opportunity Tae and Zezzek. :)
@  Refurius (Sat 15 Feb 20 - 13:17) done very good for the first time betty :) *thumbs up*
@  Refurius (Mon 17 Feb 20 - 09:13) awesome mission yesterday. one of my most fav. ones! thanks vil
@  Liggo (Mon 17 Feb 20 - 17:40) Can someone put the training server up please ? :)
@  Guss (Wed 19 Feb 20 - 12:23) Kingdom Come: Deliverance is free on Epic and Assassin's Creed Syndicate as from Tomorrow!
@  stabcon (Wed 19 Feb 20 - 18:27) Please join Server 1 for training tonight
@  J. Hansen (Wed 19 Feb 20 - 18:52) Great internet just went down
@  Obi (Thu 20 Feb 20 - 15:27) Okay, so I'm not trying to push others to get Contact, but I did want to drop in and say....bought it last night and the single player bit alone has to be the best I've played in Arma since OA.
@  Shlee (Thu 20 Feb 20 - 23:22) Obi works for BI btw
@  CAESAR (Thu 20 Feb 20 - 23:40) Mission post will go up Friday, apologies for the late® post.

Photo
HELP

Bug; No Message Recieved

- - - - -

Best Answer TAE , 07 March 2016 - 06:25

^Exactly what Andrews said.

 

WiFi is not the best thing to begin with but a lot of things can make it worse. Too many WiFi Router or Access-points on the same channel start canceling each other out. Each wall in between you and your router reduces the signal strength additionally. WiFi-Signals don't follow the hallway and walk around corners.

Think of it like a light bulb, the light spreads out, but every object in between you and the bulb casts a shadow. While it might still be bright behind it, the light intensity is reduced. More objects casting a shadow in a row means even less strength. All you need then is one interference and you connection drops for a short duration until everything is capable of reconnecting.

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Fluffy

Fluffy
  • ENLISTED INFANTRY

Posts
131
Threads
3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    So in today's training my internet cut-out on both Steam/ArmA and TS for approximately one minute. Whilst they were down my internet worked fine on other devices. I've had this happen before, though there seems to be no obvious cause, and it affects me randomly.

     

    Would anyone be able to suggest a cause or fix for this?


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #2
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    846
    Threads
    56
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    850
    Offline

    When you say "other devices" you mean on a smartphone and/or other notebook/computer in the household?

    If the internet cuts-out on Steam/Arma and TS, does brwosing still work? Or Skype?


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #3
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    Must have missed this when it was posted, it seems like it cuts out on my PC (TS/Steam/ArmA), but not my laptop/phone/etc. I can still browse the internet on those devices.


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #4
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    846
    Threads
    56
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    850
    Offline

    Wired connection or WiFi?


    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #5
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    WiFi, using a USB 3 WiFi device too, if that helps


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #6
    Andrews

    Andrews

      Task Force Command

    • HEAD ADMIN

    Posts
    2,483
    Threads
    475
  •   Member Number:
    1
  •   Joined:
    14-September 13
  •   Reputation:
    1711
    Offline

    This sounds like a bad usb wireless modem, since the other devices function and only the PC fails, I would check to see if you can connect via your laptop (not to play just to idle) and see if you drop.

     

    Try another USB external modem if you have one or RJ45 (hard cable) into your PC. 

     

    Hope this helps.

     

    /edit - log into your router and change wifi channels. This could prevent interference.

     

    http://www.pcadvisor...hannel-3325316/


    • Fluffy likes this

    FOUNDER / HEAD ADMIN
    andrews2013.jpg

    pIRDoLzGIuHoB5GgQDdRtTWKA0Y%3D.png

    Carpe diem!" - "seize the day" - Horace


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #7
    Fluffy

    Fluffy
    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    131
    Threads
    3
  •   Member Number:
    118
  •   Joined:
    27-October 14
  •   Reputation:
    151
    Offline

    Thanks for the assistance, if changing to WiFi settings doesn't work out I'll look into a new WiFi adapter, perhaps one that connects via PCI.


    Posted Image
    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #8
    TAE

    TAE

      Legendary Hero

    • ENLISTED INFANTRY

    Posts
    846
    Threads
    56
  •   Member Number:
    47
  •   Joined:
    15-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    850
    Offline
    ✓  Best Answer

    ^Exactly what Andrews said.

     

    WiFi is not the best thing to begin with but a lot of things can make it worse. Too many WiFi Router or Access-points on the same channel start canceling each other out. Each wall in between you and your router reduces the signal strength additionally. WiFi-Signals don't follow the hallway and walk around corners.

    Think of it like a light bulb, the light spreads out, but every object in between you and the bulb casts a shadow. While it might still be bright behind it, the light intensity is reduced. More objects casting a shadow in a row means even less strength. All you need then is one interference and you connection drops for a short duration until everything is capable of reconnecting.


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image

    Posted ImagePosted Image
    Posted Image

    TAE is such a fucking legend - Andrews 2015


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards

    #9
    Doolz

    Doolz

      Arrow Legend

    • VIP GROUP
    Posts
    122
    Threads
    4
  •   Member Number:
    49
  •   Joined:
    16-September 14
  •   Reputation:
    141
    Offline

    Missed this so a bit late but Stick a wire in it Fluffy especially for gaming.

     

    Solution I use if PC is not near the hub

     

    http://www.amazon.co...ilpage_o01_s00 

     

    Should get better speed that way too.


    • Fluffy likes this

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image


    Awards Bar:
    Users Awards



    Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HELP

    DMCA.com Protection Status